clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Houston Dynamo Announce 2010 Team Awards

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Now that the 2010 Houston Dynamo season has come to a close it is time for the fan-favorite year-end awards. The club announced many of the 2010 team awards immediately after the 2-1 win over the Seattle Sounders with the winners being honored in front of the fans complete with video tributes.

Until then, here are your 2010 Houston Dynamo team award winners.

Newcomer of the Year: Lovel Palmer

Goal of the Year: Brian Ching, August 21 vs. Chicago Fire

Dynamo Academy Player of the Year: Leo Ayala (Houston Sharpstown High School)

Game of the Year: August 21, Dynamo 4, Chicago Fire 3
Get Microsoft Silverlight

Defender of the Year: Bobby Boswell

Save of the Year: Bobby Boswell, September 22 vs. Kansas City Wizards
Get Microsoft Silverlight

USSF Humanitarian of the Year: Brian Ching for his work with The House That Ching Built.

Ironman of the Year (awarded for most MLS minutes played): Andrew Hainault (2,376 MLS minutes)

Young Player of the Year: Danny Cruz (U-23) with 2 goals and 2 assists in the 2010 MLS campaign.

Budweiser Golden Boot (Most MLS Goals): Brian Ching (7 goals, 3 assists)

Most Valuable Player: Brad Davis

These awards are based on media voting with online fan voting contributing to the Goal of the Year and Save of the Year awards.

In the next week or so, I will be listing out my personal year-end awards with thoughts and commentary included.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.