clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Players Championship Winner: Matt Kuchar Earns Win At 13-Under

Matt Kuchar held off the field to win The Players Championship by two strokes at the TPC At Sawgrass. Kuchar recorded a final round of 70 to get to 13-under for the tournament. A birdie on 16 provided some breathing room heading into the final two holes.

Rickie Fowler, Martin Laird, Zach Johnson and Ben Curtis all tie for second finishing at 11-under. Luke Donald checks in at 9-under while Bo Van Pelt, Jhonattan Vegas and Kevin Na all finished at 8-under.

Na entered Sunday's final round with a one stroke lead over Kuchar but struggled his way to a four-over par final round. David Toms and Carl Pettersson round out the top 10 finishing at 7-under.

For more coverage of the 2012 Players Championship, be sure to check out this StoryStream. For updates and perspective on all things golf, visit Waggle Room or stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated golf hub.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.