clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2012 Indy 500 Qualifying, Pole Day: Start Time, TV Schedule, Radio And More

IndyCar racing fans and red-blooded Americans can rejoice: it's pole day for the 2012 Indianapolis 500.

Drivers and race teams will do their best in four-laps to qualify for the Indy 500. Each racing team will run four laps, with the 24 cars with the fastest four-lap average qualifying for IndyCar's most prestigious event. After that, the top nine cars will then run an addition three-laps, as they all race for the pole.

The top nine cars are scheduled to race for the pole beginning at 3:30 p.m. CT, and will eventually be followed by the Pole Award presentation, tentatively scheduled for 6 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. CT.

As always, qualifying and the entire Indianapolis 500 will be held at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Qualifying begins at 11 a.m. ET, 10 a.m. CT, and televised coverage can be found on NBC Sports Network.

For more on the Indianapolis 500, head over to Pop Off Valve and join the discussion.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.