clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 SEC Baseball Tournament, Final Score: Ole Miss Defeats Arkansas 2-0

The Ole Miss Rebels defeated the Arkansas Razorbacks 2-0 in early Wednesday action in the SEC baseball tournament, eliminating Arkansas and moving on to the second round.

The Ole Miss pitching was dominant, as Mike Mayers and Brett Huber combined for a nine-inning shutout. Mayers struck out 8 batters and allowed only 5 hits in 7 innings of work.

Each of the two Razorbacks pitchers, starter DJ Baxendale and reliever Colby Suggs, allowed only one run, but they weren't quite good enough to support an offense that couldn't get anything going against the Rebels.

The only two runs of the game came in the fourth and eighth inning, with LF Zach Kirksey and DH Sikes Orvis each contributing one RBI.

With the victory, Ole Miss moves on to face the loser of Wednesday afternoon's Mississippi State-LSU game.

For more coverage of the SEC baseball tournament, stay tuned to the SB Nation Houston storystream.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.