clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Indy 500 Final: Dario Franchitti Wins His 3rd Indy 500 Title

Dario Franchitti withstood a hard charge from Takuma Sato on the last lap to win his 3rd Indianapolis 500 title on Sunday afternoon.

Sato pulled off an impressive pass on the second to last lap by squeezing in the middle between Franchitti and Scott Dixon to move into second place. As the white flag waved, Franchitti held a slight inside position on Sato, but Sato forced Franchitti's hand to move up the track.

Sato seemed to have the edge on Franchitti coming out of turn one, but right when Sato was primed to surge ahead, Sato's right wheel got clipped by Franchitti's car and Sato spun out. The yellow flag waived with Franchitti in the lead and an anti-climatic finish gave Franchitti his third Indy 500 win.

Here are the unofficial results for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500.

1 Dario Franchitti 50 Honda
2 Scott Dixon 9 Honda
3 Tony Kanaan 11 Chevrolet
4 Oriol Servia 22 Chevrolet
5 Ryan Briscoe 2 Chevrolet
6 James Hinchcliffe 27 Chevrolet
7 Justin Wilson 18 Honda
8 Charlie Kimball 83 Honda
9 Townsend Bell 99 Honda
10 Helio Castroneves 3 Chevrolet
11 Rubens Barrichello 8 Chevrolet
12 Alex Tagliani 98 Honda
13 Graham Rahal 38 Honda
14 JR Hildebrand 4 Chevrolet
15 James Jakes 19 Honda
16 Simon Pagenaud 77 Honda
17 Takuma Sato 15 Honda
18 E.J. Viso 5 Chevrolet
19 Michel Jourdain Jr. 30 Honda
20 Sebastien Bourdais 7 Chevrolet
21 Ed Carpenter 20 Chevrolet
22 Katherine Legge 6 Chevrolet
23 Ana Beatriz 25 Chevrolet
24 Marco Andretti 26 Chevrolet
25 Josef Newgarden 67 Honda
26 Sebastian Saavedra 17 Chevrolet
27 Ryan Hunter-Reay 28 Chevrolet
28 Will Power 12 Chevrolet
29 Mike Conway 14 Honda
30 Bryan Clauson 39 Honda
31 Wade Cunningham 41 Honda
32 Simona De Silvestro 78 Lotus
33 Jean Alesi 64 Lotus

For more updates on the Indy 500, stay tuned to this StoryStream. For more on Indy racing, including the 2012 Indianapolis 500, please visit Pop Off Valve.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.