clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PGA Championship Winner 2012: Rory McIlroy Wins Second Major

Rory McIlroy shot a 6-under, 66 on Sunday to pull away from the field and capture the 2012 PGA Championship. The win was McIlroy's second win at a major championship and broke Jack Nichlaus' record for margin of victory at the PGA Championship.

McIlroy won the tournament by eight strokes over second place David Lynn. McIlroy's combined scores over Saturday and Sunday was 11-under par. Sunday's round featured no bogeys for McIlroy which didn't give the rest of the field an opportunity to make a run.

Lynn finished alone in second place at 5-under while a group of golfers including defending champ Keegan Bradley and Carl Pettersson finished tied for third at 4-under. Tiger Woods shot even par on his final round and finished at 2-under and tied for 11th.

For more on the 2012 PGA Championship stay tuned to SB Nation Houston. For more news and notes on the PGA Tour head over to SB Nation's dedicated golf hub.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.