clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas-San Antonio Wins Southland Tournament, Returns To NCAA's For First Time Since 2004

Final Score: Texas-San Antonio 75, McNeese State 72

Katy, TX (Sports Network) – Jeromie Hill posted 25 points to complete Texas- San Antonio’s surprising run in the Southland Conference Tournament with a win over McNeese State, 75-72, as the Roadrunners claimed their first title since 2004.

Devin Gibson notched 15 points and Melvin Johnson III had 14 points for the seventh-seeded Roadrunners (19-13), who won their third conference crown and is riding a five-game win streak into the NCAA Tournament. They defeated second-seeded Northwestern State by one point in the quarterfinal round and disposed of third-seeded Sam Houston State in the semifinals on Thursday by a 79-70 final to get to the championship game.

Stephen Franklin chipped in 10 points and 10 rebounds in the win.

Diego Kapelan scored 20 points for the top-seeded Cowboys (21-11), who got 12 points and 10 rebounds from Patrick Richard. P.J. Alawoya added 10 points and 12 boards in the loss.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.