clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2012 Texas A&M Football Schedule: SEC's Warm Welcome Doesn't Last Long

At first glance, the Texas A&M Aggies got a rough draw from the SEC in their inaugural season. It's bad, but not Ole Miss bad: The Aggies only have three SEC home games in college station (hosting Georgia September 9, LSU October 20 and Missouri November 24. Texas A&M essentially loses a home game with Arkansas due to the pre-existing contract with the Cowboys Classic in Arlington, Texas. The game won't be played in Arlington, although an alternate site has yet to be determined.

The gang at Football Outsiders rates the A&M schedule as the fifth hardest of the 14 SEC teams, thanks largely in part to the Aggies joining the stacked SEC West, but certainly not helped by drawing bowl teams Missouri and Florida from the SEC East.

The full 2012 slate for A&M is technically incomplete, as the listings at the Aggies' official athletic site have two 'TBA' dates, and only two non-conference opponents (SMU, McNeese State) are listed. Obviously the ongoing non-conference series with the Razorbacks is now a conference game, explaining one absence:

Date Opponent Location Time (CT) Results Media
Sat, Sep 01 McNeese State College Station TBA
Sat, Sep 08 Florida * College Station TBA
Sat, Sep 15 SMU Dallas, TX TBA
Sat, Sep 22 TBA TBA TBA
Sat, Sep 29 Arkansas * TBA TBA
Sat, Oct 06 Ole Miss * Oxford, MS TBA
Sat, Oct 13 TBA TBA TBA
Sat, Oct 20 LSU * College Station TBA
Sat, Oct 27 Auburn * Auburn, AL TBA
Sat, Nov 03 Mississippi State * Starkville, MS TBA
Sat, Nov 10 Alabama * Tuscaloosa, AL TBA
Sat, Nov 17 TBA TBA TBA
Sat, Nov 24 Missouri * College Station TBA
* Conference Games

For more on the Texas A&M Aggies, vist I Am The 12th Man. For everything college football, visit SB Nation's college football news hub.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.