clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trophy 2012 announcement show time, TV schedule

The winner of the 2012 Heisman Trophy will be announced on Saturday

Jeff Zelevansky

The 2012 Heisman Trophy has come down to finalists Johnny Manziel, Manti Te'o and Collin Klein. The winner will be announced on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET, live from the Best Buy Theater in Times Square. Television coverage of the announcement will be provided by ESPN, with their broadcast beginning at 6 p.m. ET.

The winner of the 78th Heisman Trophy will be determined by 928 votes. 870 of those votes come from members of the sports media, while 57 votes belong to living former recipients of the award. Additionally, one vote will be cast as a result of a fan survey conducted by ESPN.

Manziel's 4,600-yard, 43-touchdown season has him as the front runner for the award. He would be the first-ever freshman recipient. Klein also has a shot at making history as he would be the first Kansas St. Wildcat to ever win the trophy. Te'o comes from the program with the most history; seven Notre Dame players have won the award.

Images by eflon used in background images under a Creative Commons license. Thank you.